Coming in October, November, December

Anatole Litvak Week or Maybe Fortnight! Been watching lots of films by the not-insanely prolific but prolific-enough Kiev-born megaphonist and there is much to admire. So I don’t think I can fit it into seven posts and so why let it spill over when I can just call it a fortnight and look like I know what I’m doing?

October will also see the publication of a very special article for a respected organ. Kind of a Halloween treat. More later.

On October 12th, Arrow releases the Blu-ray of WARNING FROM SPACE, which has a text essay accompanying it written by yours truly, me. All about the film’s strange history of release in the English-language market, and the odd things done to it in the name of translation.

On November 2nd, the Blu-ray of THE SHELTERING SKY to which Fiona & I have contributed a video essay (edited by Stephen C. Horne, produced by Neil Snowdon) will be released by Arrow.

Both films are available to pre-order now.

In early December, tradition has it that The Late Show Late Movies Blogathon is held. A usual, it is open to all — start thinking now if you’d like to write something on a filmmaker, actor or studio’s late or last works. Don’t wait for an invite — volunteer, please!

9 Responses to “Coming in October, November, December”

  1. David Ehrenstein Says:

    Begin HERE

  2. For the Late Show Blogathon I’d like to tackle either Doc Savage: The Man of Bronze or Star Trek: The Motion Picture.

    My writing credentials are as follows: I edited The Real James Dean: Intimate Memories from Those Who Knew Him Best (Chicago Review Press, 2016), which Library Journal calls a “fascinating compendium.” “Winkler has offered a fine, well-researched attempt to parse together the ‘real’ James Dean,” writes Sight & Sound. I authored Dennis Hopper: The Wild Ride of a Hollywood Rebel (Barricade Books, 2011). Filmmaker Philippe Mora, who directed Hopper, calls it “the definitive biography of this live wire who lived on the high wire.” I have also written for a variety of publications, including Filmfax, The Huffington Post, The Los Angeles Review of Books, and Playboy.

  3. I’d like to take part in the Late Show blogathon again, though I’m still debating amongst three films (Satyajit Ray’s The Stranger, François Truffaut’s Confidentially Yours/Finally Sunday, and Mikio Naruse’s Scattered Clouds/Two in the Shadow). I’ll let you know.

  4. Mr. Winkler, you would be welcome to cover either of those. I’d be particularly interested in the Pal.

    Erin, any one of those three (or any two, or all three) would be most welcome.

    Thanks!

  5. Hi, are you accepting previously published posts.. if so can I enter Paul Walker’s last film.. Furious 7, thanks Gill from Realweegiemidget Reviews

  6. Sure! Send a link when the time comes.

  7. It was a tough choice,but I’ve decided to cover Star Trek: The Motion Picture. What is the maximum word limit and the deadline? Thanks.

  8. As long as you like, and I guess deadline should ideally be before Dec 1st, though it’s negotiable.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.