Non-Fiction Film Thing

DSC_0338

Masters of Cinema’s stunning new Dziga Vertov set, photographed on the rich brown leather background of my couch. If you rush out and buy this, you get not only MAN WITH A MOVIE CAMERA, but all of Vertov’s other major works, providing not only valuable context, but a bunch of brilliant films some of which it might even be possible to prefer to the more celebrated title.

You also get a video essay written and sort-of-directed by me (Vertov deserves credit for all the shooting!) and edited by Timo Langer, entitled NON-FICTION FILM THING (Vertov’s subtitle description for his KINO EYE newsreel/essay works).

I urge you to acquire!

Property is theft: it makes you feel clever.

Use the link below when purchasing in order to benefit Shadowplay by a few sticky pennies:

Man with a Movie Camera (and other works by Dziga Vertov) (1929) [Masters of Cinema] Limited Edition 4-Disc Dual Format (Blu-ray & DVD)

2 Responses to “Non-Fiction Film Thing”

  1. John Seal Says:

    David, if (theoretically) I have the Flicker Alley set, do I also need this? Is it hugely duplicative, or superbly supplementary?

  2. They sent me the Flicker Alley set to refer to when I wrote the text for my vid essay. I *think* the films content is about the same, and the main difference would be the extras. Should you buy it just for my video essay? In an ideal world, obviously the answer would be YES! But with finite finances, I’m not sure I could argue forcibly for that.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.