The Late Show

cropped-7women3-1.jpg

It’s started!

Unfortunately, I haven’t. Not a single film has been viewed, not a single article written. Nevertheless, I do not intend to disappoint you. Screening tonight is a special birthday showing of CLUNY BROWN, Ernst Lubitsch’s last completed movie (and a beauty!), put on by our friend Nicola, and I will be there. Meanwhile, the call goes out for entries, and I get busy…

Our Blogathon may be small, but what there is, is cherce.

22 Responses to “The Late Show”

  1. Intending to pen a piece on Donat’s third to last film, The Magic Box. Please nag me, hassle me and generally make my life miserable until I do it!

  2. Consider yourself nagged! It’s a lovely film, with just the right elegiac tone for the occasion.

  3. I couldn’t do Playmates (it would far too painful for a Barrymore fan), but I would be willing to write something on The Furies, Walter Huston’s last film. Could I email it to you for your consideration – like last year?

  4. Yes please! All entries are welcome, whether by email or via other blogs. I look forward to it — and I have the Criterion disc so I can illustrate it.

  5. La Faustin Says:

    Anatole Litvak’s Coeur de Lilas (1932), filmed, when not on location in Paris, in the Pathé-Natan studios. The “late” quotient is supplied by the heartbreaking Marcelle Romée.

  6. Wow — you’re going to write this? Yes please!

  7. On December 8 on Dennis Cooper’s site I’ll be running one of my periodic “Le Pettit Mac-Mahon de David Ehrenstein” entires. This one is a triple-feature of Tom Schiller’s Nothing Lasts Forever, Gregory Markpoulos’ Twice a Man and Jacques Rivette’s Duelle. Consider it a day-late contribution to this Blogathon.

  8. Thank you, an honour!

  9. For Grand Old Movies, I’m writing on Zeppo Marx and Duck Soup, something a little different for the Blogathon. Will put the link in a comment when it’s ready.

  10. Great! There’s a whole heck of a lot to say about that movie!

  11. […] the last, or very late, films of directors, actors, and others in the film universe. Please click here for more […]

  12. Hi – here’s an update – I’ve posted at Grand Old Movies my Late Show blogathon post, on Zeppo & Duck Soup – here’s the direct link – thanks!:

    The Late Show Blogathon: Exit The Kid Brother

  13. Oops, I haven’t time to participate this year. Here are a few Late Films I’d written up earlier in 2012, then. As usual for me, the writeups are little more than plot descriptions with massive spoilers, so I suggest simply browsing over the pretty pictures.

    The Saga of Anatahan (late Sternberg)
    http://deeperintomovies.net/journal/archives/7632

    Queen Kelly (late Stroheim – the director, not the actor)
    http://deeperintomovies.net/journal/archives/7753

    The 1000 Eyes of Dr. Mabuse (late Lang)
    http://deeperintomovies.net/journal/archives/8071

    This one breaks the rules, but I’ve found little written about it so it may be of interest – Agnes Varda’s 2011 miniseries
    http://deeperintomovies.net/journal/archives/7875

  14. Superb, thanks!

  15. […] sublime dcairns of shadowplay is hosting his annual blogathon The Late Show: The Late Films Blogathon. The theme is the last film of… well, of something, or someone. The ‘thon is running […]

  16. Hello! I wrote an entry about “The Unholy Three,” Lon Chaney’s last film, at my blog, In the Dark:

    http://moviedavid.blogspot.com/2012/07/awkward-early-talkie-theatre-unholy.html

    Thanks!

  17. David – Sorry I didn’t find out about this sooner (I would have talked it up on the blog) but here’s my contribution to the ‘thon:

    http://thrillingdaysofyesteryear.blogspot.com/2012/12/the-late-show-harder-they-fall-1956.html

  18. Thanks! Look forward to reading. I’ll post a piece linking to this soon.

  19. Mine is finally done! On the last day, too, because I have a reputation to maintain

    http://shebloggedbynight.com/2012/the-late-movies-blogathon-10-laps-to-go-1936/

    Thanks David!

  20. Thank you! Will link to it on the front page as soon as I get in from work. Looking forward to reading it also.

  21. Thanks! Will link via a front page post shortly.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.