Old Haunts

A  pre-Halloween haunted houseful in this week’s edition of The Forgotten. I’ve written about this one before here.

AU SECOURS! is available as an extra on the DVD of Abel Gance’s LUCREZIA BORGIA, along with the film with the greatest title ever, LA FOLIE DU DOCTEUR TUBE (THE MADNESS OF DR TUBE).

Buy — Lucrezia Borgia

10 Responses to “Old Haunts”

  1. Great stuff. Gance is a lot more than just Napoleon

  2. My vote for greatest title ever: The Merry Frolics of Satan.

  3. TMFOS is pretty good, I must admit. “Merry” and “Frolics” builds up such a momentum of frivolity that “Satan” arrives like a slap!

    I plan on getting more into Gance, I just enjoyed the first J’Accuse, and I’m upset that I can’t see a decent copy of his remake.

  4. Christopher Says:

    “I have to pay all those monsters right away..”

  5. Well, you don’t want to keep THOSE guys waiting…

  6. Christopher Says:

    love those old intertitles ..”Hes barring his teeth at me!”

  7. david wingrove Says:

    Haven’t seen much of early Gance but LUCREZIA BORGIA is certainly a treat. A frontally nude Edwige Feuillere playing with a giant fluorescent beach ball, and perhaps the most overt gay man I’ve ever seen in a 30s film.

  8. Gance is definitely one of those directors who loves the decadence he’s denouncing!

  9. david wingrove Says:

    …and why not?

  10. Certainly the best alibi for getting a lot of transgressive sex into a movie, as DeMille knew well.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.