Zap!

The most repulsive image I’ve ever, ever posted.

I was just thinking, it’s been a while since ZAPPED AGAIN!, the 1990 sequel to ZAPPED! (1982), perhaps the best telekinesis/sexual humiliation comedy ever. It’s almost like they lost faith in the idea. I was thinking, somebody should make another film in the series, just so that ZAPPED! doesn’t get to be the best telekinesis/sexual humiliation comedy ever anymore.

So awful is ZAPPED! that even the presence of Scatman Crothers doesn’t help. In fact, it hurts — while you spend much of the film’s 98 years minutes feeling bad for the naked actresses, you spend the rest of it feeling bad for Scatman, and, by extension, all bald men, everywhere.

In ZAPPED!, perhaps the must-not-see film of 1982 (a year with many strong contenders for that title — “What about GANDHI?” I hear you ask) deals with the simple, to the point of retarded, premise of a young man, played by Scott Baio of BUGSY MALONE fame, who has the power to literally undress girls with his mind. You can just hear the pitch — “He can literally undress girls with his mind!” is what “screenwriters” Bruce Rubin and Robert J. Rosenthal would have said. “And then they’re like, naked and really unhappy?” the producer would ask. “Yes!” would come the reply. And so shone the green light upon ZAPPED!, illuminating the project with a suitably queasy, gangrenous hue.

So, here’s my pitch for the belated sequel (and everybody loves a belated sequel, yes? Yes???) which I call ZAPPED OUT!

It’s 2010 and college student Barney Springboro (Scott Baio returns to the role he made unfamous, and that’s NOT negotiable — I don’t care how much he costs, or how little), whose psychic gifts deserted him when he first got laid, is now divorced, alcoholic and suffering from some kind of skin disease (that last part isn’t really important). As he sinks into alcoholic dementia, his powers come back, briefly enlivening his miserable life, only he can’t really control them and he gets arrested. Seems that when you’re standing close to somebody, like really uncomfortably close, and their blouse gets ripped off, saying you did it with your mind isn’t really a defense.

Springboro gets banged up, and now his power really lets rip, shredding the prison uniforms of a dozen or so of the meanest convicts in the local penitentiary, with hideously brutal and unnecessarily protracted consequences. The End.

23 Responses to “Zap!”

  1. David, if I didn’t know better I’d say you have too much time on your hands. But I know better.

  2. Sometimes an idea pops up and it’s better and quicker to write it down than to have it taking up space in one’s head…

  3. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaand… cue:

  4. (“Too much time on your hands” is of course Scott Baio’s middle name: http://jezebel.com/5520775/scott-baios-online-meltdown-a-complete-timeline )

  5. That Patrick Stewart thing was genius. I’m pretty sure they just wrote the routine and then said “Who can we get to say this?” but it turned out beaitifully. Almost like collage: you put together two things that don’t belong and surprise yourself.

    Baio is a Scientologist therefore he really can undress people with his mind.

  6. Your “Zapped My Baby One More Time” makes me think, what with the skin disease and all, of Dennis Potter. Perhaps they can all lip0sync to the hits of 1982?

    Baio mouthing “Don’t You Want Me,” others doing the same for “Physical” and “Tainted Love” and “Waiting for a Girl Like You,” not to mention “Shake It Up” …

    The thought of it hurts so good.

  7. More recently, Willie Aames portrayed a super hero, Bibleman, in a Christian show for children. Ironically, Bibleman uses similar special effects, to what is in the poster.

  8. “Zapped Out,” that is — and it *is* a preferable title.

  9. Or at least, so Baio believes!

    I’ve always admired Patrick Stewart for the way he isn’t afraid to send himself up. His small role in Lifeforce is particularly off the wall memorable:

    After that Star Trek seems down to Earth! And I’d like to pretend that the “and then all their clothes fell off” obsession might be an oblique call back to Mathilda May’s influence on a generation of young men who indeed got ‘to see it all’!

  10. I was hoping never, ever to be reminded of the teen sex comedy genre that infested our theaters back in the early ’80s. Scott Baio was just the icing on that layer of shit. Willie Aames the decoration. About the only thing it was good for was if you were desperate to look at nubile naked young women.

  11. Christopher Says:

    don’t pitch that movie re-make Idea to any producers…they might do it..
    I can just see re-makes of bad 80s teen comedies being the next fad in film making…we already got The A-Team comin’ at’cha!

  12. Yeah, I think my producers might got for it too. If The A Time can be remade, there really seems no limit.

    Having to watch Scott Baio mug and otherwise “do comedy” seems a positively biblical punishment for the desire to see some skin. I can’t quite decide if 80s US sex comedies are more wrist-slashing than 70s UK ones. They’re blander. The women are nominally more attractive, but also blander. Both seem to take post-masturbatory nausea and self-hatred as a starting point, rather than working up to it.

    Lifeforce, on the other hand, is positively appealing and likable. Or at any rate it seems that way when contrasted with the supposed hi-jinks of Porkies etc.

  13. I’m pretty sure that they only make belated sequels to bloated, over-expensive ensemble-cast movies* (Ghostbusters, Indiana Jones, Sex & The City) these days. Movies like Zapped! get the more worthless “reboot” treatment, so you’ll have to pitch the exact same movie as Zapped(!), but with a slightly different ending and Scott Baio playing the telekinetic lead boy’s telekinetic dad.

    * (“bloated, overexpensive” can refer to the cast OR the movies)

  14. When it comes to telekinesis , THIS is the ne plus ultra

  15. Not to mention —

  16. I have a friend who’s nostalgic for those ’80s teen films. It’s sad, because he’s older than I am, which means he wasn’t in his teens or early 20s when they came out. Not that I liked them much anyway, but they were aimed at my age group. When we watched one of those films on his big screen TV, I walked out. Worse, he lets his adolescent daughter watch these films with him.

    I’m reminded me of a short film I thought of when I was in my late teens, about a spotty, ugly kid who was so into masturbating that he modified a milking machine to get him off, and which eventually killed him. Somehow, when I recited the story nobody was comfortable with the plot.

  17. david wingrove Says:

    Having spent the 80s doing my best to avoid teen movies, all I can say is I once got trapped on an airplane that was showing the 1987 John Hughes opus ADVENTURES IN BABYSITTING.

    I considered throwing myself out (with or without a parachute) but decided to be brave and stay the course. Must admit I have rarely laughed so hard in my life…

  18. Zapped! is essentially a remake of Carrie, a thought which boggles the mind. Hero gets hit on head and psychic powers erupt at prom night… Maybe the makers (who haven’t really done anything since) should have remade Dressed to Kill, Blow Out et al as teen sex comedies.

    I’m not sure if Adventures in Babysitting is Hughes. It’s produced by the team of Hill-Obst (who did some good stuff) and directed by (gulp!) Chris Columbus. But in the days before Home Alone and Parry Potter, CC showed promise. He did write Gremlins…

    Pitch the milking machine idea to Christopher’s producers! We can say it’s a metaphor for capitalism.

  19. david wingrove Says:

    God, of course – Chris Columbus! A case of protective amnesia.

  20. There has always been something distinctly creepy and unsettling about Scott Baio’s visage and demeanor, something which I think had not been fully exploited until his weirdly stiff appearances in TV series Arrested Development as ineffectual lawyer Bob Loblaw. Watching him in that, I couldn’t help feel he missed a trick in the early 90’s straight-to-video thriller boom as he could have landed any number of demented cuckoo roles. I guess his loss was Patrick Bergin’s gain?

  21. This feels like the first entry in a new series, “The Entirely Justifiably Forgotten.” The things you do for us, David.

  22. Wow, pitch my yellowed 1980 manuscript to Chris Columbus, now there’s an idea! It wasn’t anticapitalist then, it was more anti-narcissistic pleasure or anti-consumerist culture. Besides, Carpenter did some of my themes way better in Christine.

  23. […] A pretty funny piece–comedy is other people’s pain–from one of my very favorite mo… […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.