Erotic Intertitle of the Week: Bottoms Up

vlcsnap-519651

Surprising intertitle from THE NAUGHTY FLIRT, one of those early-thirties talkies that still uses title cards between scenes. And yes, we’re talking pre-code. The director is Eddie Cline, a former colleague of Buster Keaton — yet he shows no particular flair for slapstick, or even inclination towards trying it, in this standard-issue rom-com enlivened by Alice White’s exaggerated comic playing and cuteness, and Myrna Loy’s slinkiness. Cline would rediscover his mojo in films for WC Fields a little later.

vlcsnap-520348

Pert spankee Alice White.

As for the spanking theme, it’s really one of those punitive beatings that are more common in fifties films with John Wayne. All about putting a woman “in her place.” Here’s a movie I know I will never watch:

mcclintock%20320x240He may well be “McNificent,” but he has an arm jutting from his ribcage like some ghastly SILENT HILL mutant. A harrowing gurn distending his puffy mug. The gaping maw yawning hellishly from amidst an inflamed countenance like a skelped arse. Which is ironic, if you think about it.

While the makers of THE NAUGHTY FLIRT are clearly aware of the appeal of spanking as erotic play, the narrative use of it isn’t particularly playful. It compares unfavourably with thos dialogue in TROUBLE IN PARADISE:

“Your accounts are a disgrace! If I were your father I would spank you.”

“And if you were my secretary?”

“I’d do just the same.”

“You’re hired.”

Lubitsch, as always, is in a class by himself for naughtiness.

10 Responses to “Erotic Intertitle of the Week: Bottoms Up”

  1. Christopher Says:

    its always a “Good” Spanking..never just a spanking..a good thrashing..a good trouncing…

  2. Still, the need to SAY a “good” spanking must imply the existence, potentially ay least, of a “bad” spanking. Perhaps if an “old-fashioned” spanking is “good,” a “bad” spanking would be somehow “new-fangled”?

  3. kevin mummery Says:

    You’re not missing anything by avoiding “McClintock”. Unfortunately, I’ve seen it and can’t unremember it…suffice it to say, it’s usually described as “rollicking”. Personally, I hate anything described as rollicking, probably because of this (and many other) movie. Oh, and it has John Wayne in it, so that’s another tipoff that it’s going to be bad. And rollicking.

  4. I can handle Wayne as a young actor. I can handle him as an old actor if the film is elegiac. If it’s “rollicking” or “boisterous” I’m going to give it a wide berth. I’m particular who I rollick with.

  5. kevin mummery Says:

    “I’m particular who I rollick with.”

    As one should be.

  6. What is a new-fashioned spanking then I wonder?
    Is it maybe what modern dance is as supposed to classic ballet? And if it has to be bad then it would be sort of like the equivalent to bad contemporary dance….
    In that case I take to old-fashioned spanking, thank you.

  7. Maybe avant-garde, experimental spanking? Interpretive spanking?

  8. abstract or maybe post-modern spanking?

    Somehow I really want to know and somehow I really don’t…

  9. From Fosse to fessee.

  10. […] came across this excellent inter-scene title card from one of those pre-code movies, and figured it was worth […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.