Books 5: The Deadly Companion

hallw

Halliwell’s Filmgoer’s Companion, and its sister book, Halliwell’s Film Guide, had a special place in my distant youth. In an era when a kid could not own a bunch of movies (even when we got VHS, I couldn’t afford the blank tapes for a big collection of off-air recordings) a big book was a way to have a swathe of cinema at one’s fingertips. It was similar to the attraction of heavily illustrated tomes like Denis Gifford’s Pictorial History of Horror Movies. You gazed in wonder at all the movies you might never see. The difference was, Leslie Halliwell achieved this effect without pictures, just by marshaling facts and opinions.

It’s the opinions that are the problem. While I still keep copies of his books around (not the latest editions, since the IMDb has largely destroyed the need for such reference books, but still, having the facts in hard copy form is useful at times), I’ve learned to largely ignore the value judgements expressed in the capsule reviews.

When I first held the Film Guide in my hands (which was exciting), I was astonished to discover that Halliwell awarded 0 stars out of a possible 4 to Sergio Leone’s THE GOOD THE BAD AND THE UGLY, indicating that the film was, in his opinion, of no interest to the average viewer. That was the first of various dismaying discoveries.  In the edition before me, edited by John Walker, the film now gets 3 stars, but Halliwell’s review remains unchanged ~ “Intermittently lively, very violent, and interminably drawn-out Western with a number of rather hilarious stylistic touches.” Which suggests that Halliwell couldn’t recognise when Leone was being deliberately funny. My ten-year-old self had struggled a bit with Leone’s humour, but I eventually figured out the joke. Halliwell’s inability to do so might tell us a lot about the poor reception Leone tended to get from critics in his day.

halliw

I soon learned that Halliwell was not to be trusted on any film made after the 50s, because he just didn’t like modern cinema. The most recent film to get 4 stars was BONNIE AND CLYDE.  As I grew more sophisticated, I perceived that he couldn’t really be trusted on earlier films either, since he tended to misunderstand even the great films he liked: he once wrote that the climax of THE RED SHOES seemed tacked-on, as if they couldn’t think of a way to end it. Which demonstrates pretty conclusively that, while enjoying and appreciating the film as the masterpiece it is, he totally missed the point of it.

I did discover that LH had a kind of negative genius for picking out films of rare interest, and roundly condemning them. Long before I saw the films reviewed below, I was drawn to them by Halliwell’s scathing denunciations, which seemed to promise the kind of corrupting and depraving adult entertainment every growing boy needs. See if you can identify the films ~

Despite undeniable technical proficiency this is its writer-director’s most outrageously sick film to date, campy, idiosyncratic and in howling bad taste from beginning to end, full of worm-eaten skulls, masturbating nuns, gibbering courtiers, plague sores, rats, and a burning to death before our very eyes… plus a sacrilegious dream of Jesus.

Couldn’t get my head round that at all. He says “campy” and “idiosyncratic” as if those were BAD things. And wnat’s wrong with rats? And he seems to enjoy the blasphemy in Bunuel, so why not here?

A repulsive film in which intellectuals have found acres of social and political meaning: the average judgment is likely to remain that it is pretentious and nasty rubbish for sick minds who do not mind jazzed-up images and incoherent sound.

Brilliant, I thought. I not only don’t mind “jazzed-up images,” I adore them! In fact, Halliwell’s denunciation was never the “average judgment” of this vert successful box-office hit, nor has such a view prevailed over time.

Not badly made but rather seedy film about appalling people.

Heh.

The most excessive and obscene of all this director’s controversial works, incapable of criticism on normal terms except that it seems unusually poor in production values.

Our man is being rather inconsistent here, since this film is by the same director as the first example. They can’t BOTH be his most obscene work, surely?

Appalling kaleidoscope of black comedy and the director’s own brand of uncontrolled cinematic zaniness, with echoes of Candide and Oh What A Lovely War! Just the way to alienate a paying audience.

Oh yeah, you keep Voltaire well away from our poor defenseless paying audiences.

The person who does the best job identifying these movies wins a copy of one of them.

halliwellEmil Jannings as Henry VIII.

So why do I still keep these books, and why do I cite them as influences on my becoming a cinephile? Well, for all his middlebrow curmudgeonly philistinism, Halliwell had certainly seen a lot of films, and he was happy to pass his experience on to the rest of us. I not only used his books as occasional references, I devoured them, cover to cover, soaking up information on the films that interested me, and locating many others that seemed worthy of pursuit. Leonard Maltin’s books, harder to find in the UK, contained fewer preposterous critical own goals, but also fewer cast and crew credits. Cross referencing between the Film Guide (movies) and the Companion (people), I could assemble a personal cinema history of the cinema I was interested in. While scorning Halliwell’s opinions, I nevertheless owe him a massive debt.

34 Responses to “Books 5: The Deadly Companion”

  1. AnneBillson Says:

    OK, the first one is definitely The Devils. Then, I would guess, Taxi Driver. Then – The Godfather? Lisztomania? O Lucky Man?

    I got rid of my last Halliwell many moons ago, though I do still retain a battered Maltin for those occasions when my internet connection goes down. But thank God for imdb.com (the info, of course, not the comments)

  2. robert keser Says:

    I totally agree about Halliwell, although I never succumbed to purchasing any of his books. Every time I was tempted to do so, I’d read a few pages in the bookstore … and recoil at the author’s prissy and determinedly chuckle-headed opinions. If anything, he represented the polar opposite of my taste and interests, but I just wanted to avoid his “negative genius”, as you so rightly call it. It’s true that, even some decades ago, we had a few more resources in the U.S., especially in big city libraries, but like you I was creating my own lists and cross-references, now superseded by the IMDb, by Ephraim Katz’s Encyclopedia, and by the Time Out review collections. Incidentally, the first quote sounds like a rant against Ken Russell’s THE DEVILS (or is it Bunuel and THE MILKY WAY?), but I respectfully decline to even think about the other quotes!

  3. i agree that film number one is THE DEVILS and i would guess that film number two is TOMMY

  4. You’re all right on The Devils, but that’s all so far. Halliwell is generally very positive about Bunuel, interestingly enough. Kind of confirms my theory that after his first films, and the specific case of Viridiana in Spain, Don Luis had a genius for NOT offending people.

    Oh but wait — Ann is right about Lisztomania. Could be the winner. Much more “offensive” than Tommy. Roger Daltrey speaks in that one!

    Les is sort of OK about Taxi Driver, he doesn’t much enjoy it but he admits it has some validity.

    Ephraim Katz’s tome was always way superior to LH’s, but not updated often enough. I’m glad to see it back on the shelves though.

    So, 2, 3 and 5 still to be guessed. 3 is very hard.

  5. I’m thinking, 2 is Mean Streets; 3 is Harold and Maude; 5 is The Bedsitting Room. Wild guesses, all of them, but I spent enough time swearing at Halliwell in my youth to feel mildly confident.

  6. All good guesses. All wrong. But Bedsitting Room is frighteningly close. Just need to factor in the Candide reference a little more (although I don’t think it was on the makers’ minds at all).

  7. 2 – PERFORMANCE?

    3 – SCARFACE?

    5 – HOW I WON THE WAR?

    i’ve never read halliwell except for one time in a bookshop when i was trying to find the name of a movie in which gerard depardieu played a gay cat burglar

  8. Colin McL Says:

    2 – Clockwork Orange?
    3 – Compulsion?
    5 – How I Won The War.

  9. Yeah I think 2’s Performance (he’s a bit right about the sound; those first five minutes could really have done with a Walter Murch). Number 5’s Magic Christian? And 3… I dunno…
    Zardoz.

  10. I have a friend (more like an acquaintance, really) who went to see GOMORRAH last year, because of my enthusiasm for it, and told me afterward that he saw it once, would never see it again. seems he had a problem with there being no likable characters in the film, and if you couldn’t find anyone sympathetic, then what’s the point? Which tells me he missed the point. I think of this in light of Halliwell’s “Not badly made but rather seedy film about appalling people”. So I take it that’s Halliwell as Emil Jannings as Henry VIII? He looks like the kind of self-important twit who needed to get out more often, hence the cluelessness in understanding and assessing films that require a broader awareness of cinema in particular and life in general.

  11. Well, I’ve a well thumbed copy of the book and stiil take it out from time to time to get a cheap giggle at what he has to say. I looked up Sherlock Jr. on Friday: two stars out of four, which is incredible.

    So, anyway, I think I recognise both A CLOCKWORK ORANGE and COCKFIGHTER in your examples there, as numbers 2 and 3.

  12. Oh, and this reminds me of the great Mystery Science Theatre episode where they run through Maltin’s Guide and find all the films that LASERBLAST was scored more highly than.

    “F. Murray Abraham’s tortured performance as Salieri in AMADEUS? No better than LASERBLAST!”

  13. Wow, I think we have two in the lead —

    Anne was first right on The Devils and also got Lisztomania.

    Douglas got the very tricky Cockfighter (I know he’s a fan) and also Clockwork Orange, which is hard to recognise from Halliwell’s description.

    And Alex got How I Won the War.

    I think you all deserve a prize of some kind. Let me know if you’re lacking any of the named movies, or if there’s some other thing you always wanted to see.

    Guy, you deserve a prize for your Halliwell profile, which is I suspect spot-on. But I just posted 10 films to you!

  14. Sounds wonderful! Thanks.

  15. Oh, you already have my list – besides, I still need to send you those Dick Barton films.

  16. Ah, just found an unapproved comment, now added, from Colin Kitchener McLaren, who also gets two right. So, a free movie for him also.

  17. AnneBillson Says:

    More quizzes please! That was great fun.

    Have you come across I Know That Movie on twitter yet, David? Some questions laughably easy, yet others can drive you nuts. For example, if you recognise this film, you’re a better man than I am: http://www.iknowthatmovie.com/movie-quiz-120/

  18. Whew. That’s too SMALL! If I could just see the wee man’s face… was going to say The Ninth Gate but I think the ratio’s wrong.

  19. AnneBillson Says:

    It’s funny you should say that – I was thinking Polanski too. I wondered whether it might be from the library scene in Chinatown, but it’s not. You should guess The Ninth Gate anyway.

  20. What Halliwell can’t seem to understand is “worm-eaten skulls, masturbating nuns, gibbering courtiers, plague sores, rats, and a burning to death before our very eyes… plus a sacrilegious dream of Jesus” are the very essence of popular entertainment.

    As for a non-seedy film about appalling people I highly reccomend Tom Kalin’s Savage Grace. Saw it last night on cable for the second time. It was barely released a year or so ago. Took 15 years to get made. Yikes! JUlianne Moore is exceptional in it, and the ending is unique in its sinister matter-of-factness.

  21. yup–paying attention to screenwriter and director of photography credits makes up for a lot… even the absurd habit of expecting *authenticity* from the Studio System–and throwing a little tantrum every time a British location looks like it was filmed on a backlot (my pet Halliwell peeve)… you pretty much have to go WITH the artifice of Old Hollywood, in order to get much out of it, but Halliwell always seemed to be clinging to a past that didn’t even have the imagination to appreciate properly

    and yet–I had a whole bunch of his books in the 1980s (and you absolutely nail the feeling of connection that these comprehensive tomes gave us–in the pre-TCM, avi file era)–and I have a real soft spot for the moments in Hundred and Harvest when the author provides concrete details of his encounters with the films (either in the theatre or on the BBC)

  22. david wingrove Says:

    While I quite enjoyed SAVAGE GRACE, I just didn’t think it was lurid or excessive enough. These people’s very existence was an exercise in gratuitous excess. I really don’t think you can portray them honestly without going wildly over-the-top – which is just what that film failed to do!

    But Julianne Moore was magnificent, indeed. If only she’d had Luchino Visconti to direct her!

  23. Kalin is a really interesting filmmaker who should be supported and encouraged more.

    You’re right, anagramsci, Halliwell’s take on cinema was so purely personal that he was definitely at his best writing memoirs of his first encounters with key movies. That kind of thing is nearly always enjoyable to read.

  24. Going “over the top” wouldn’t have worked. I met Tony Bakeland a couple of tiems and knew several people in his circle (not covered in the film.) Kalin’s cool crisp approach captures this world perfectly.

  25. Tony Williams Says:

    Halliwell was a man of his times. But, at least, he saw those films despite his curmedgeon attitudes. I was advised not to get recent editions of Katz since veterans like Walter Rilla would be axed to find space for the latest toy boys and bimbos that Hollywood would temporarily use, then drop.

  26. dcairns Says:

    That’s a shame if it’s true. And in the age of the IMDb, it doesn’t seem a sensible direction to take the book in.

  27. robert keser Says:

    Tony is correct: the first edition of Katz has some uniquely rare information that got jettisoned to make room for more modern iupdates in the second edition. I’m happy to have both of them, but the third edition must be still more compromised, I imagine. New filmmakers need to be recognized too, of course, but I find myself consulting the first edition most often.

  28. I’m late to the game, so you’ll have to take my word when I say I correctly identified The Devils and A Clockwork Orange.

    As for Dear old Leslie, I still have copies of both books, as well as his rather odd horror tome, The Dead That Walk. Between Halliwell, Katz, and Peter Cowie’s International Film Guide, you really didn’t need anything else in the ’70s and ’80s. I used to amend the Companion by adding death dates, too!

  29. Wow, that’s taking things to a disturbing extreme!

  30. Tony Williams Says:

    Well I do the same thing to the second edition of Katz since like Robert I’ve not bothered to purchase the third edition. It is one way of keeping it up to date.

  31. Christopher Says:

    I still keep the old Leonard Maltin Movie Guide for reference(used it on this Site a time or two or three… )..haven’t purchased a new one since 2003..I’d been getting them since 1971..Maltins more of a true movie fan and less a critic,thats what I like about him..I always found Halliwell confusing and a bit stuffy..and like others here, was often astonished at the movies he dismissed..

  32. Maltin, for all his faults, is far smarter and more appreciative than Halliwell. In a better world we would have Maltin’s reviews and Halliwell’s credits in one book.

  33. I have a soft spot for Halliwells as the college library I worked at during my A Levels in the mid-90s let me have their old copy when they upgraded! And then four years later some friends from University got me the latest (2002 at the time) version. So while I agree on the head-scratching reviews (my film guide of choice in the pre-Internet days was the Radio Times Film And Video Guide 1994 Edition by Derek Winnert – a tome that has fallen into two halves through over use and is still useful today!), I have two Halliwell guides that I didn’t buy and keep around for sentimental reasons!

  34. Yeah, for all my impatience for the man I still have some kind of affection for his work. During his days as ITV and Channel 4 film buyer, we certainly saw some great movies on TV, even if some of them were cut for timing, which was deplorable. In one case, I only realized that Charade had been trimmed because the Film Guide mentioned a missing scene as one of the highlights!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.