One cappuccino, one latte, one black

MC Charmer

Coffee with Fiona and the ever-charming Mark Cousins. He was fresh from prostrating himself at the feet of Terence Davies in Cannes, where Davies’ new documentary, OF TIME AND THE CITY, had reduced him to tears. He says he’s found himself tearing up almost every time he’s tried to discuss the film since. He and Guardian film critic Peter Bradshaw were chatting about it after the screening and neither could hold back their tears. That must have been quite a scene. But I bet it has the same effect when it plays Edinburgh.

Apparently both Davies’ unmade drama projects now have a bit of heat again, after his Cannes success. Even French critics who were not overly familiar with Davies were blown away by it.

I’m reminded of Mitchell Leisen’s TO EACH HIS OWN. It ends abruptly at its emotional peak, and audiences were staggering from the cinema, blinded with tears, crashing into the walls and each other and generally gashing their heads and knees. Cinema proprietors contacted Leisen and begged him to add thirty seconds of nothingness, chatter or additional end credits to the film just to allow patrons to compose themselves. His response: “No.”

Mark is now well into the production of his eight-hour television version of The Story of Film. The book comes with a quote from Sean Connery. I remember reading it: “Mark Cousins is incapable of writing anything about cinema -” at which point I thought, “Hang on… That’s not very nice!” but the Great Man goes on, “- without making it fascinating.” I mentioned this to Mark one time and he said that when Connery dictated the quote over the phone, he actually paused at just that point. “The cheeky monkey.”

Hume Condish

My mercenary purpose in dragging Mark across town for this meeting was to extract from him copies of the rare and out-of-print THE HUMAN CONDITION trilogy by Shadowplay favourite Masaki Kobayashi, which I successfully did, so I’ll be writing about those beauties as soon as I’ve watched all nine hours.

Nine hours???!!!

Mark bought the films years ago on the advice of a friend who described them as the greatest film/s ever. The fact that Volumes 2 and 3 of Mark’s set are still shrink-wrapped strongly suggests that Mark did not share this view…

But he very kindly encouraged me to take my blogging skills, whatever they may be, into the more lucrative world of the printed page, and advised me on whom to approach. So, now I need to think about what kind of film book I would write. Any suggestions?

17 Responses to “One cappuccino, one latte, one black”

  1. Without wanting to fall into my own brown pool of cliche, write about whatever you feel the strongest and most passionate about. Whittle it down.

    PS

    Hope you’re well.

  2. Terence doubtless appreciated the tears. For him they are a basic condition of existence.

  3. Chris B Says:

    Yeah, great news about the Davies film and the BFI are set to release THE TERENCE DAVIES TRILOGY and THE LONG DAY CLOSES on DVD next month! I’ve not seen the latter (the only Davies I haven’t gotten round to yet) but when I heard Alex Mackie was due to come in to our film production class last year to give a lecture/seminar on editing (with personal consultations for our own shorts), I promptly ordered the US NTSC vhs, unfortunately she couldn’t make it in the end (illness, I think) and we had to settle for David Gamble (er… SHAKESPEARE IN LOVE). Oddly enough, the Amazon marketplace seller e-mailed me to say they didn’t realise that particular video wasn’t actually in their warehouse at the time of my order.

    Just finished watching the latest Nicolas Roeg offering, PUFFBALL; kinda like a hybrid of THE WITCHES and a mystical children’s TV show (formally quite weak), but were it to be broadcast for children, heads would roll as you have no less than 4 sex scenes (quite aggressive in tone); an old woman practicing magic with a cum-filled condom; medical footage (looked CGI) of semen spraying ovaries, and an overarching storyline comprising miscarriage, abortion and a group of villagers trying to steal/kill the protagonist’s unborn child. There’s even two scenes with Donald Sutherland.

    On another note, heh: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1175506/

  4. I would huff and puff about Mr Cousins having the Human Condition within his grasp for all that time without watching it but then I look at my pile of films I have still yet to watch (including Harikiri and Samurai Rebellion) and realise it would be a bit hypocritical of me!

  5. I highly highly recommend Hara Kiri!

  6. The Long Day Closes is my very favorite Terence.

  7. Puffball sounds…worrying. I hate Fay Weldon’s writing.

    I know Eddie Dick, who’s been trying for ages to make a film with Roeg of a Shusaku Endo novel. That was originally going to star Sutherland.

    I’m going to build up to the festival screening by getting properly into Davies’ work.

  8. The main key to Terence is Doris Day. Be sure to (re)visit Romance on the High Seas, Young at Heart and The Pajama Game.

    Other keys include The Ladykillers, The Magnificent Ambersons and Love is a Many Splendored Thing.

  9. The last three are no problem for me, but the only Day films I have are her two Tashlins, alas. Oh, and Love Me or Leave Me.

  10. You’ve pretty much named my short-list of favored Doris Day pictures. I’m suprised, though, by the omission of the ’50s “Man Who Knew Too Much.” I also harbor a lot of affection for one not named that I haven’t seen in years and years, “Storm Warning.” Which is the one, of course, that reproduces the “Streetcar Named Desire” trio, only with Ginger Rogers and Blanche and Steve Cochran as Stanley and DD as Stella — plus Ronald Reagan as the raisonneur.

    And I do, as I’ve told David E.’s Bill on several occasions, love one song from “Romance On The High Seas”: an anti-sentimental corrective to “It’s Magic” called “Put ‘Em In A Box (Tie ‘Em With A Ribbon, And Throw ‘Em In The Deep Blue Sea).” Music by Jule Styne, words by Sammy Cahn.

    (An Aside: Be assured, what one puts in that box is *not* one’s discarded beaux, it’s useless romantic notions.)

  11. That’s Ginger Rogers *as* Blanche. Oops.

  12. Oops — yes, I forgot The Man Who Knew Too Much. I should certainly see the Curtiz films when I get a chance.

    Oh, and hi to Brian up at the top! Yes, I’m fine, how are you?

  13. “Put ’em in a Box” has Doris singing with the Paige Cavanaugh trio. There’s a movement among his friends to get Paige a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. He was quite the deal back when Romance on the High Seas was made and Doris was thrilled to be singing with him. Paige is not in the best of health and his friends are hoping a star would cheer him. Doris was approached about it and she was only too glad to write to the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce of her support for a star for Paige.

    So much for the “Doris Day’s Sad Last Days” headlines in the tabs. She’s doing just fine in Carmel, Ca. thankyouverymuch!

  14. I was watching through some old video tapes last night and came across Mark Cousins’s introduction to Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye in which he mentions that Terence Davies’ favourite film is another Gordon Douglas film, Young At Heart!

  15. Makes sense — Terence does love his musicals. Although nobody would say Douglas was the best-ever musical director.

  16. Yeah, but Sinatra and Day were absolutely right together and the former offers up a “One For My Baby” that’s to-die-for.

  17. I should revisit it. I love Fred Astaire’s dance to that song.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.