Archive for October 13, 2017

Fuzzy Frank

Posted in FILM with tags , , , , on October 13, 2017 by dcairns

I’ve just stolen a copy of John Frankenheimer: A Conversation, by Charles Champlin. It’s really good. Before I return it, I’ll quote a bit. Frankenheimer on Sinatra in THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE:

His big scene in the picture is his confrontation with Raymond when he holds up a deck of cards and they’re all the Queen of Hearts. […] And Frank was incredible in his close-up. We embraced afterwards, he was that good.

But when I looked at the dailies the next day, the close-up was out of focus. The only thing that was in focus was the oak leaf insignias on Frank’s shoulders. The assistant cameraman had made a mistake.

Going to tell Frank–he didn’t watch the dailies–was the longest walk of my life. He was crushed; he almost cried. “My God, what can we do?” he said. I told him the only thing we could do was re-shoot it.

We re-scheduled the shoot, but he had laryngitis so he couldn’t do it. We re-scheduled again and he was so uptight about it he was physically sick to his stomach before we began. We did three or four takes, and none of them was really any good. We scheduled it again and did some more takes. But it wasn’t there; he couldn’t do it. So I finally said, “Screw it, I’m going to use the one that’s out of focus.” I put it in the movie, and it becomes Raymond looking at him, kind of brain-washing him.

I got the greatest reviews of my life for that shot.

