The Stove Killer

dsc_0093

THE EXECUTIONER is now available from Criterion, with a text essay by me. The essay’s not online yet but you can read the original piece which got me the gig, here.

UPDATE: here is the new piece.

The disc just arrived and is pictured resting on our lovely old stove, but it’s quite safe from melting as the chimney sweep has just been and condemned the stove as unsafe. Not only is it presently unsafe, but it has apparently never been safe, and we’ve been using it for decades. Which means either we’re lucky to be alive, or maybe it IS safe. The expression “only time will tell is inadequate here: it seems to me that time HAS told, but the chimney sweep is refusing to listen.

It is an excellent film.

6 Responses to “The Stove Killer”

  1. La Faustin Says:

    ¡Olé! Give me an inch and I’ll take a mile: could you do Berlanga’s TAMAÑO NATURAL?

  2. I’ve been meaning to get a subtitled copy so I could watch it…

  3. La Faustin Says:

    I’ve seen a subtitled version floating around under the French title, GRANDEUR NATURE.

  4. Do you Know Berlanga’s Placido? In my opinion it’s his greatest masterpiece.

  5. I don’t know it, no! Clearly I must.

  6. There is good copies with english subtitles

Leave a Reply

