The Longest Lanyard

DSC_0349

OK, so I have my festival brochure, my staff pass and my press pass. Co-writer Alex Livingstone gets the filmmaker pass, because how many lanyards can I wear before my slender neck gives way?

Dates for the diary ~

Tomorrow I open the Festival, if you discount the Opening Night Gala and Party, with POW!!! Origin Story, presenting the development of comic book heroes in the cinema, from 1895 to (sort of) the present day, showing how our retrospective fits into the history books. This will be at 16.20 in Filmhouse 3.

Speaking of the retrospective, I will be introducing DANGER: DIABOLIK in the same venue at 18.20, and then MODESTY BLAISE on the big, big screen of Filmhouse 1 at 23.10.

On Friday, our movie THE NORTHLEACH HORROR premieres in the shorts screening at Cineworld at 18.00. This is sold out, officially, but there will probably be more tickets available on the day. Then we premiere AGAIN, if that’s even possible, in front of THE REZORT at 23:25 in Filmhouse 1.

On Saturday, THE REZORT gets a second screening, accompanied by THE NORTHLEACH HORROR again, at 20.35 in Cineworld. Still tickets available for this one, I believe.

I’ll be at all those screenings.

On Saturday I resume intros for POW!!!, so you can see me in front of BARBARELLA, then the next day TINTIN AND THE MYSTERY OF THE GOLDEN FLEECE, LONE WOLF AND CUB: SWORD OF VENGEANCE, etc. I don’t know if I’ll be at GOLGO 13, as I have a funeral that day, and I’ll be out of the country at the end of the fest so will miss POPEYE and FLASH GORDON, but I think you’ll see me and co-programmer/mastermind Niall Greig Fulton before BABA YAGA, FRIDAY FOSTER and BATMAN: THE MOVIE, the last-named featuring a Very Special Guest.

What I don’t quite see is how I’m going to finish a book chapter, a DVD text essay, and edit an entire video essay at the same time. But no doubt there’s a way. It generally turns out that there is.

4 Responses to “The Longest Lanyard”

  1. Freddie Fox Fan Says:

    Break a leg – or whatever is the phrase for film premieres & lectures! Best of luck – hope it engenders interest/ financial backing for feature length and/ or series, starring the v wonderful Freddie Fox. (Loving his Bottom at Southwark Playhouse)

  2. I’d like to see you in front of Barbarella.

  3. Here’s an idea: we get hold of a print of Barbarella without the animated titles, so it’s a fully nude zero-G Jane Fonda up there, and me jumping around in front of the screen trying to cover up her naughty bits.

  4. Interactive!

Leave a Reply

