M and Them

vlcsnap-2016-01-20-18h41m39s3

I somehow trace a connection between much-loved giant ant epic THEM! and an Argentinian remake of Fritz Lang’s even-more-admired-and-by-snootier-people M, in this week’s edition of The Forgotten, which returns from its first-ever seasonal sabbatical. Here!

4 Responses to “M and Them”

  1. Tony Williams Says:

    I avoided a VHS copty of Chenal’s NATIVE SON at an old rental store years back as I knew it would be dire. However, I’ve always wanted to see his STREET WITHOUT A NAME since it appeara to be the first link between German expressionism and French poetic relaism continued in his CRIME AND PUNISHMENT (1935) that I do have on VHS.

  2. La Faustin Says:

    Speaking of Argentinian noir (albeit shot in Peru): Christensen’s swoon-worthy BLACK ERMINE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FyTlBDUMHL0

  3. Two classics. I loved Them as a boy, and it has aged surprisingly well. Oh… and too bad James Whitmore got killed.

  4. Black Ermine with subtitles! Everybody watch!

    I’m intrigued by the Chenal, I gather it’s kind of misguided but it’s sure to be interesting. And I’m likewise keen to see Street without a Name, which seems to have vanished.

    I saw Them! in a scifi series on BBC2 as a kid and was very taken with it, especially the opening.

Leave a Reply

