Disc

natandvd

A copy is en route to me from the distributor, Lobster Films. You’ll have to get yours from Amazon.fr.

The good news: English and French subs, region-free. There’s a tiny extra of Natan’s party to open the studio at Rue Francoeur, which is now La Femis, France’s national film school. Apparently the guests were filmed, the footage was rushed to the lab, and at the end of the party it came back and was projected so they could see themselves. Not quite instantaneous, but a novelty at the time.

For newcomers: NATAN, a feature documentary by Paul Duane and myself, tells the story of a true cinema pioneer, a man who discovered great movie stars, innovated technically with sound, colour and widescreen, radio and television, and was perhaps the most powerful figure in French cinema from 1930-1936, but who was destroyed by a cabal of enemies, his reputation smeared, and ultimately his life taken away. Not even his memory remained — until now.

7 Responses to “Disc”

  1. La Faustin Says:

    In more good news for anglophone lovers of le cinéma de grandpapa, NATAN’s researcher, Christine Leteux, now has an English-language edition of her biography of Albert Capellani: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=christine+leteux

  2. Wonderful! I crave a similar translation of her Maurice Tourneur work also!

  3. “Temporairement en rupture de stock.” — zut alors!

  4. They’ve ruptured their stock?

  5. I wanted to report the ruptured stock crisis yesterday, but wordpress wasn’t letting my post comments. Will it now? When did I become spam?

  6. I’m back! Under a different email address. At least my stock hasn’t been ruptured. And my copy of Natan has been ordered regardless. I’m still smarting from the time that it was shown, as part of the SF Jewish Film Festival, a block from where I work and at a time when I could just stroll over during my lunch break. Even the movie’s runnning time was calibrated for my viewing convenience. Except not, because I unavoidably had to be out of town on the day.

  7. I think the disc *may* be now getting held back until after the French TV screening, but I’m not sure. That could explain the rupture. If you were lucky to snag a copy pre-rupture, congratulations!

Leave a Reply

