The Sunday Intertitle: Van the Man

vlcsnap-2015-11-29-12h45m41s40

Since I made reference to Charles Vanel’s novel use of titling in his feature directorial debut/swan song DANS LA NUIT in Thursday’s edition of The Forgotten, I thought I’d show you examples. Anyway, I’m running about today on account of a film I’m making (yay!) so I have no time to do more.

Above we see the big decorative title cards which separate and announces the film’s major sequences. Nothing new there. But below we see the rather novel SUBtitle approach used for the very few bits of dialogue. These allow the exposition to be delivered without cutting away from the scene.

vlcsnap-2015-11-29-12h46m23s33

The nasty yellow German subs are courtesy of Arte and we can’t do a thing about them.

2 Responses to “The Sunday Intertitle: Van the Man”

  1. I think I’ve seen the same technique on other silent films – subtitles for what isn’t said, you might say – but I can’t say exactly where. It’s certainly used in Esteban Sapir’s La Antenna, with tghe further complication that most of the “sounds” come from a radio antenna.

  2. I posted something a while back that used speech bubbles, but I can’t recall what the hell it was. It was a fragment made by unknowns, I think…

Leave a Reply

