Dublin in a rainstorm

James Coburn in DUCK, YOU SUCKER!

Will you accept this as proof I was in Dublin?

D Cairns in Toner’s Pub.

Regular Shadowplayer Paul Duane tells me he knows one of the extras playing British soldiers shot down by Coburn in this scene. Nervous about his screen debut, he’d fortified himself with strong drink beforehand, so that when the squibs went off and spurted “Kensington gore” from his uniform, and he doubled up to begin his death-collapse, he inadvertently threw up on his way to the ground.

Leone loved it. “We do one more take.”

I guess they used the retake in the end.

Thanks to Paul Duane for the camerawork and pint.

20 Responses to “Dublin in a rainstorm”

  1. My pleasure!

  2. Yes but you’re not James Coburn — or Sergio Leone.

  3. Christopher Says:

    Love love this film!
    I can hear that bit of Morricone music now as you prepare to turn around…

  4. David E — nobody is!

    I had a nice conversation with the Siren where Coburn’s name came up. I forget which film we were discussing, but she said -

    “It made very good use of his James Coburn-ness.”

    To which I said -

    “Which was his principle quality as an actor.”

    Which is true: the thing he had that was so good was entirely unique to him. A sense of cool which transcended mere good looks (he’s kind of odd-looking) and was absolutely part of him.

    Christopher: Yeah, we walked into the pub, Paul, Milos and I, and Milos started singing “Sean sean sean…” It’s a slightly problematic film because of its politics, sexual and otherwise. Maybe the issue of the heroic IRA man is defused slightly by the complete anachronism of placing him in the Mexican revolution… Anyhow, despite its issues, I’m ridiculously find of it.

  5. You’re quite right about his cool. No wonder he was drawn to Donald Cammell’s script for Duffy Too bad they rewrote it.

  6. I think this should be the first in an occasional series of pictures in Dublin pubs that featured in films… Think of it as a public service to the world.

  7. kevin mummery Says:

    No offense but you look somewhat more like Victor McLaglen than James Coburn in that photo, David.

  8. Too late Gareth, I’m back in Edinburgh. Still, we’ve got the odd pub too.

    If I’d assumed a pose matching a Victor McLaglen movie, I’m afraid I’d fail to live up to that too. I’d be descending the ranks of leading men until I got to Wallace Shawn or somebody.

  9. kevin mummery Says:

    I’m working my way up (?) to Jack Elam status, if such a thing is possible.

  10. david wingrove Says:

    Most bizarre use of Dublin I’ve ever was in a dreadful Riccardo Freda giallo from 1971 called IGUANA WITH A TONGUE OF FIRE. The title is the only good thing about it…oh, and the locations…and also Valentina Cortese in full-blown diva mode. But the rest of it is so crap that Freda took his name off it and released it under a false name.

  11. Robert Aldrich’s certifiably insane The Legen of Lylah Clare popped up on TCM last week. Hadn’t seen it in years. Besides the unalloyed pleasure of scenes featuring Kim Novak swannign around in a bra and slacks for no apparant reason (while Peter Finch tires his best to underact when overacting was most definitely called for) it also boasts Valentina Cortese and Rossella Falk — often appearing together in the same shot.

  12. Okay, make that a VERY occasional series ;)

  13. I downloaded Iguana after hearing Paul Duane talk about how bad it is, but what I got was a poisonous soup of pixels which chokes anything I try to play it on. Maybe that’s the director’s cut?

    Just watched Your Vice is a Locked Room and Only I Have the Key, which has one of the most perfect gialli titles ever, but which isn’t, alas, very good. Still, it had two nice images, so I’ll use it in Poe Week.

    I remember Lylah Clare being demented (the animated blood splat!) and I’d totally watch it again…

  14. Speaking of demented – animated skeletons, flying severed heads, etc. – have you seen the Japanese film “House” (1977)? Strikes me as right up your alley. It’s one of the most extraordinary expressions of an individual filmmaker’s fantasy world that I’ve ever encountered.

  15. I did touch upon “Hausu” earlier, and by a bizarre coincidence I’m mentioning it again later this week, maybe tomorrow. Denis Gifford’s A Pictorial History of Horror Movies actually appears in the film.

  16. The original version of The Legend of Lylah Calre was TV drama written by Robert (Angel Angel Down We Go) Thom starring

    (wait for it!)

    Tuesday Weld

  17. Wow, your eyes, or rather Fiona’s, are much sharper than mine, though admittedly there is an awful lot to take in during the bizarre running time of “Hausu”. I took my wife and a friend, both of whom exited the screening shaking their heads and staring at me.

  18. Utterly adored every moment of LYLAH CLARE, possibly my favourite Aldrich movie (although SWEET CHARLOTTE comes a close second)!

    Kim Novak is spectacular as always, and anyone who thinks she was ‘just a pretty face’ should be forced to watch it on a weekly basis.

    David – I do have a wretched VHS copy of IGUANA if you’re feeling at all masochistic!

  19. I’ll make another attempt at locating a watchable Iguana, but first, Freda’s Maciste All’Inferno beckons with meaty digit.

    Robert Thom’s appalling, brilliant Angel Angel Down We Go marks him as a rather unique and undoubtedly messed-up talent. Looking at his credits, the surprise is actually that he managed to do so much.

    House/Hausu certainly throws everything at us: it seems to anticipate Sam Raimi in some respects, but it’s MUCH weirder. The way it takes three-quarters of its running time to set up the characters its going to dismember so recklessly, and the way this DOESN’T seem like a mistake… Have been looking forward to seeing more of Obayashi’s demented work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

