Shooting Fish

12459-fish-tank-dir-andrea-arnold

Over at the Auteurs’ Notebook I deliver my verdict on Andrea Arnold’s FISH TANK. While I was a bit down on RED ROAD for being kind of glum and depressing, this time I seem to be saying her movie isn’t depressing enough. It’s entirely possible that I’m just never going to be satisfied with modern British realism. I leave it to you to decide is this is Caliban’s rage at seeing his face in the mirror, petty jealousy because AA is making features and I’m not (and I do worry this might be true, I seem to hate everything new here), or some kind of gosh-darned CRITICAL INSIGHT, unlikely as that may seem.

The Auteurs would love it if you join the discussion over there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers

