Archive for March 27, 2009

Three Women

Posted in FILM, Television with tags , , , , , , , , , on March 27, 2009 by dcairns

dscf1616

An entire film industry in female form: producer Angela Murray, writer Fiona Watson and director Morag McKinnon.

First came the shoes. Fiona seemed to have quite a lot of shoes, and our floordrobe was cluttered with them. It seemed ironic that we couldn’t walk anywhere in our flat for all the shoes. So Fiona bought a big steel shoe rack, which hooks onto a door, covering one side. But she only hung a couple of belts on it, and the Shoe Problem remained. Then she bought three big plastic boxes (each big enough to swallow an old portable TV like the one I watched ZOLTAN HOUND OF DRACULA on in my bedroom aged 15). But she seemed to be too busy to actually put anything in them.

So on Saturday morning I started putting away shoes and boots, ending with three boxes brimming with boots and an entire door decorated with shoes, so that you could take it off its hinges and use it as a wooden centipede, if you needed one. When Fiona came home and actually saw how many items of footwear she owned she started laughing hysterically. Because what else can you do when you suddenly discover you’re Imelda Marcos?

Imelda and I are currently redrafting CELL 6, a psychological horror thriller, for Edinburgh producer Eddie Dick — in fact, that’s probably what we should be doing right now. A new step outline by the 11th, please.

Off to Glasgow, where producing supremo Angelatook us to a Persian restaurant (hint: if you order the starters, you don’t need a main course) where I ate myself into a state of planetoid girth, complete with volcanic activity. Thence to Angela’s favourite bar, where I think I rather offended Angela by referring to it as “a suburb of hell” (sorry!), to be joined by Morag, who was upbeat about her upcoming film, which Sigma Productions seem to be calling DONKEYS, referred to here earlier under its working title ROUNDING UP DONKEYS (which is what they should call it). I’m really bursting to see this, since Morag and her writer Colin McLaren are among the great hopes of Scottish cinema, and since I’ve heard all kinds of onset reports that make me eager, anxious, excited, nervous, in equal measures.

Unfortunately, I’m sworn to secrecy on most of these stories. Even reproducing Angela’s stories about dealing with directors might be indiscrete, although I’m of the view that it’s a masterclass in diplomacy and would be beneficial to share with prospective producers everywhere. Maybe if we can get Angela in to lecture at the Art College she can pass on some of her wisdom and compassion.

Leave it to Believer

Posted in FILM, literature with tags , , , , on March 27, 2009 by dcairns

believ

My complimentary copy of The Believer slid through my letterbox today like a rude, papery tongue between metal lips. It’s the annual film issue, containing a free Godard DVD of ultra-rare shorts, little pieces by myself, B. Kite, J. Winter, S. Salamensky, and big meaty interviews with John Sayles, Sam Mendes, Julie Delpy, Mike Leigh. (I just saw and quite liked TOPSY TURVY so my Leigh-phobia has lifted a little.) Michael Atkinson curates and illuminates a selection of Polish film posters, and longer articles probe the works of Guillermo Del Toro, Jonas Mekas, and Friedkin’s THE EXORCIST.

A thing for you to buy!

golem

My own Polish movie poster, bought in a shop on Victoria Street that sadly no longer exists.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers