Cut And Paste Job

“The Film They Tried To Stop!” Sequel to “The Film They Tried To Pause, Then Rewind.”

Douglas Noble kindly sent me these pages of info AGES back and I’ve been meaning to post them ever since. Great movie ephemera — notes from a screening of Antony Balch’s work. I think the smeary photocopies have just the right ambience to accompany the films and the man.

Page 1. Page 2. Page 3. Page 4. Page 5. Page 6. Page 7. Page 8. Page 9. Page 10. Page 11. Page 12. Page 13. Page 14.

And here is an extract of Balchian wizardry. It might be nice to have the soundtrack playing as you try to read the notes. Or it might drive you to insanity. But that might be nice too.

12 Responses to “Cut And Paste Job”

  1. I lasted 38 seconds. Where did I put the ibuprofen?

  2. Perhaps heroin would make a better drug-film match. But be careful, I’ve heard it’s very more-ish.

  3. Well that’s what Balch’s boyfriend William Burroughs would say.

  4. So you picked the DVD up! Love The Cut-Ups – “Does it seem to be persisting?” YES!!!!

  5. No, I still haven’t got the DVD! Will blog about it when I do. But I just got 60 films in the post so I’m going to be busy awhile…

    The first of these will be reviewed in my next post.

  6. Very jealous now – any chance of sending any of those films my way? :D

  7. The screening, by the way, was at the Tate Britain on Wednesday 14 March 2001. It was presented by Mark Webber, the guitarist from Pulp, and introduced by London author Iain Sinclair. I’ve just found a review of it secreted away on my hard drive!

  8. Sinclair is the perfect guy to do this.

    Colinr, am always up for swapping movies…

  9. Sinclair is a fascinating author and steeped in cinema. I was surprised to learn that he’d written (possibly with Michael Moorcock?) an early, never-used screenplay for Conan the Barbarian. Some day I’ll tell you about the amazing, unsettling experience I had of attending the launch for his book Down River at Whitechapel’s Monster Dosshouse followed by the Krays/Ripper pub the Ten Bells. Scary stuff. And of course he was the originator of the Hawksmoor-as-satanist-architect story that Peter Ackroyd later novelised that is one of the great unfilmed British novels.

    Here’s a link to an interesting piece by him concerning Ripper mythology and Hollywood – http://www.fantasticmetropolis.com/i/fromhell/full/

  10. Moorcock (who appears on the same fantasticmetropolis site you link to, thanks, I read the lot!) certainly did a fair bit of screenwriting after his divorce, but I don’t think anything resulted. He wrote a book about the experience, in which a thinly-veiled Irvin Kershner appears as the embodiment of Hollywood inanity.

    Would love to hear more about your Whitechapel experience.

    Sinclair nails what’s wrong with From Hell: when you break with the history, you destroy the thing’s whole reason for existing. And what do you replace that with? The mediocre screenwriters have no suggestion. Johnny Depp’s visions add nothing and don’t even give him a clue.

  11. That would be great! I’m still trying to figure out exactly how to make copies of my recorded films (if there is any easy how to guide to do it I’d like to find out!) but I do have some DVDs that I’ve got in multiple versions that I could swap if you were ever interested (the first edition of Criterion’s Third Man, the BFI I Live In Fear and Woman Of The Dunes, the Artificial Eye Double Life of Veronique and so on).

  12. Oh, I wouldn’t say no to any of those. hang on, I’ll email you.

Leave a Reply

