Some kind of a man.

The Magician

It’s Orson Welles’ birthday! I guess it’s safe to mention since he’s already dead, and the CURSE OF SHADOWPLAY cannot harm him.

Anyway, whatever bad juju may be associated with me, Welles’ VOODOO CURSE probably outranks it. (A Brazilian witch doctor jinxed Welles’ film project IT’S ALL TRUE by plunging a dagger through the screenplay, decorated with a black feather. With Welles, the impossible stories turn out to be true, it’s the plausible ones you must watch out for.)

The Birds

“I don’t want any description of me to be accurate. I want it to be flattering. I don’t think people who have to sing for their supper ever like to be described truthfully — not in print anyway.”

Orson Welles — thin, young and alive.

It has been TOO LONG since I actually watched a Welles film through. I’m hoping that the Edinburgh Film Festival’s Jeanne Moreau season will feature some or all of her work with O.W. I haven’t seen THE IMMORTAL STORY or CHIMES AT MIDNIGHT on the big screen, ever. And I love THE TRIAL more than even most hardcore Wellesians. The programme is launched tomorrow, so I’ll be able to tell you for sure then.

4 Responses to “Some kind of a man.”

  1. The Trial has been seriosuly underrated for reaons that elude me. He treats the then-abandoned Gare d’Orsay like a Duchamp “readymade.” I saw him speak at USC at a screening of The Trial which Gary Graver filmed for a Filming the Trial movie. So I’m in an unfinished Orson Welles. I saved a discarded cigar from the occasion.

    My favorite Welles is F For Fake.

    Your screen-grabs would appear to be from Follow the Boys

  2. That’s right. FTB came out here, bizarrely, in a Dietrich box set.

    Having spoken to serious Kafkaheads, I can understand their objections to The Trial, but having read some short Kafka but not the novels, I’m immune. I suppose part of the problem is they can’t look at it purely as a film in its own right since Welles is in dialogue with Kafka throughout.
    On a purely audio-visual level nobody objects to it, but they don’t give it enough credit imho. One of his most striking films.
    Just been looking at Jon Tuska’s Encounters With Filmmakers, which is rather savagely anti-Welles, but DOES provide an interesting hint as to the psychology of the notorious Beatrice…

  3. What IS it about Beatrice, anyway? Hatred of her father? She’s THE major obstacle to getting The Other Side of the Wind finished.

  4. I shall give my take on the Beatrice phenomenon later today/this week.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers

