Drapery

vlcsnap-2013-12-06-12h10m21s66

An attractive moment with a billowing curtain in Alain Tanner’s last film, DANS LA VILLE BLANCHE.

But since all I have seen of this film is this single shot, I’m not going to talk about it (but I must watch it, soon — it’s a lovely shot, with the fluttering notepaper in the bottom right corner of frame enhancing the pleasure). Instead I’m turning my attention to another film full of billowing drapes, gorgeously photographed. It’s a late film, it’s also this week’s edition of The Forgotten, and it’s by Teinosuke Kinugasa. And it’s over here.

Meanwhile, at Apocalypse Now, Scout Tafoya has scouted out THE most obscure and Forgotten entry from the ’68 Cannes Film Fest line-up (apart from, I guess, the one that’s still missing). Here.

4 Responses to “Drapery”

  1. The Kinugasa clip over MUBI is Absolutely. Stunning. And all the more tantalising so as I’ve been trying to get hold of a copy of Yoso for a while. Sorry to be vulgar, can one actually obtain such a thing for ready money?

  2. I left a remark re Godard at Scott Tafoya’s site.

  3. How is Dans La Ville Blanche (1983), Alain Tanner’s last film?

    By my reckoning he made about 10 after that, including a (sort of) return to Jonas (Jonas et Lila). His last one was in 2004, Paul s’en va, which I haven’t seen. Did you mean that? But that shot looks like it’s from (the beautiful) Ville Blanche. So confused

    Because I hold this blog in such high esteem, I actually doubted my own knowledge for a moment there, despite the fact I’ve seen two of the films Tanner made after 1983.

    Anyway can’t wait for your take on the very underrated Alain Tanner (almost all unavailable in this country). Have you seen Salamder or Jonas will be 25?

  4. You’re absolutely right. I don’t really know anything much about Tanner — I think I read something that said it was his last film, but either that was nonsense or I misread it.
    I’ve just gone back to where I thought I got that information and it doesn’t say anything about it being his last film. Maybe I’ve been so focused on late films I’m seeing the word in places where it isn’t!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 435 other followers

