The Sunday Intertitle: A Summer Afternoon

maldone

From MALDONE, screening today at Edinburgh International Film Festival.

Well, I was nervous for the Dublin premiere of NATAN, I seem to be just as nervous now. This doesn’t actually get any easier, does it? NATAN has its UK premiere at 3:20 this afternoon. Do come!

Been going around grumbling that I’m going to miss a rare Jean Gremillon short because my film’s on at the same time, but then realized that’s actually not too bad a problem to have, is it? If it were the only problem I had I could be pretty happy…

Hope to write about one or some of the amazing Gremillon films I’ve seen for The Forgotten this week. Things are a bit mad — the blog is somewhat quiet, I know, making it look as if this Film Festival is less busy than last year’s, but the opposite is true. I don’t have time to write more.

What else is on today? — a programme of animation in honour of the late Scott Ward, my friend and cinematographer. Scott programmed animation for Edinburgh for years, and this tribute is a selection of his best choices. My chums Morag & Emma are being spun about in a media whirlwind with their sensational documentary I AM BREATHING, which plays again at 4:25.

CONSTRUCTORS, my favourite Kazakh comedy, screens again, MONSTERS UNIVERSITY, one of the Fest’s big guns, commercially, screens twice at the Festival Theatre, Sarah Polley’s THE MAKING OF US is getting raves from everyone who sees it, and Billie Jean King is in town to promote the documentary she stars in, THE BATTLE OF THE SEXES.

I hope to still be conscious when Richard Fleischer’s THE BOSTON STRANGLER plays at 9:45 tonight.

 

7 Responses to “The Sunday Intertitle: A Summer Afternoon”

  1. Great Trailer.

    Gremillon is a grievously neglected master. J’adore Lumiere d’ete, Remourques et L’Amour d’une femme

    Paul Vecchiali (another grievously neglected master) worships him.

  2. We very nearly interviewed Vecchiali, who is as important a historian as he is a filmmaker. He’s not in Paris so we couldn’t make it happen.

    Gremillon’s work is tremendously varied, and I’m learning that you have to see a lot of it to start making the connections that tie him together as an auteur. One by one, the films are great. After four or five, the artistic vision uniting them becomes clearer.

  3. David the screening was awesome. Very moved. I think the line about Natan being the Dreyfus of French Cinema most apt.

  4. Thanks!

    Cinema history is full of stories of people who didn’t get their due or were harshly treated, but I know of no injustice as great as that dealt to Natan, and his good name has not yet been restored. I hope we can help that to happen.

  5. and that perfidious man who wormed his way into Pathe – I think a bit of digging would be v interesting and surely his heirs are sitting on misbegotton monies ??

  6. I just learned that the insidious M. Dirler was arrested after the war, but I haven’t yet discovered the circumstances. The present owners of Pathe are completely unconnected to him, I’m happy to say.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

