You can tell by the way I use my walk

An unusual trailer for movie serial THE MYSTERIOUS DR SATAN. Unusual in the way it’s narrated by Dr Satan’s unnamed robot, by way of a series of superimposed titles. There should be movies that actually do this. I don’t just mean titles to explain a character’s thoughts, but specifically the thoughts of robots. Because otherwise it can be hard to know what they’re thinking.

I like his walk! Looks like he’s constantly on the verge of falling on his big tin face. The outtakes for this one must have been both painful and hilarious.

Dr Satan himself is played by the great Eduardo Cianelli. Nobody seems to know who plays the robot. Theories are welcome, the more harebrained the better.

16 Responses to “You can tell by the way I use my walk”

  1. Off-topic but of ENORMOUS cinematic interest

  2. What a nice, bright young person!

  3. He has his father’s eyes. And much of his manner (see Mickey One)

  4. I believe if you watch closely you’ll notice by the awkward walk the robot suit is being worn by a dog – Rin Tin Tin’s son, Tin Tin Tin.

    …best I could do. Woof.

  5. I surmise by his awkward walk that he’s Liz Hurley, rehearsing her fembot turn in The Spy Who Shagged Me.

  6. Six of one, half-dozen of the other.

  7. David Boxwell Says:

    Double mystery: who is playing Copperhead? (Imdb answers that question).

    (I just watched EC directed by Antonioni in “I Vinti” (53)–the first time I ever heard him speak Italian).

  8. Does it work? I ask because Maurice Chevalier never seems quite as good speaking French as he does speaking English with a French accent.

  9. A local repertory theater always shows a short before the weekly feature, and last year they ran an episode of this very serial at the start of every show. It was the stunt laden usual nonsense, but it has some quite exquisitely lurid pulp-styled painted illustrations on the title cards.

  10. Ah, must check those out!

  11. I’ve had no luck trying to find them online.

  12. Found them, and I think there’s a blog post in there!

  13. Jenny Eardley Says:

    Bottom photo: I wish I had legs like that – but which pair? Also, Copperhead intrigues me, it’s amazing how they got his head to look so like it was actually made of copper, even in black-and-white!

  14. I’ve always wished I had legs like Eduardo Cianelli.

  15. Jenny Eardley Says:

    The more I think about Copperhead I can really see the dramatic tension – he’s an excellent conductor of heat! I mean, it would be awful to be head-butted by a big chunk of metal, but what if he’d been resting it on the Aga for an hour? Perilous!

  16. Slightly problematic if he has a normal human head inside the copper one. Or even just a normal human neck.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 438 other followers

