World of Hurt

My John Hurt impersonation wins prizes.

But for some reason I have to take my boots off to do it.

Meanwhile, I have a new article up at The Chiseler that’s (gasp!) non-film-related. But for anybody who loves language, and filth, it’s a must.

13 Responses to “World of Hurt”

  1. You sure wear nicer socks than I do! But hence, I’ll never be quite as self-conscious about my weight (once again, I’m invoking the Harold Ross rule).

  2. At least ninny is recognizable. The monosyllable isn’t something I ever like to use as I haven’t met a woman who deserved the slur. My friends with ex-wives seem to be somewhat addicted to using it to refer to said exes. Most of the others have been lost to time, though I might like to see slamkin brought back. If you go to a grocery store early in the morning near a college around here, it’s slamkins up every aisle. I think it’s considered a style for a young woman to look like she just got out of bed while shopping.

    The Irish sure take a beating.

  3. No, you need special RADA lessons for that.

    There’s even more anti-Irish stuff in the book. I guess that was the local “other” they had enough knowledge of to be prejudiced against.

  4. maybe he “saw something nasty in the woodshed?”

  5. Hey, I’ve developed the same bags under my eyes that John Hurt has gotten! Next stop, Fred Allen!

  6. I used to see John Hurt wandering around Dublin when he lived in Ireland, and now that I think of it he used to hold a picture of a Scottish cinephile in front of his face. Presumably Mr. Hurt didn’t have a copy of the Dictionary to hand before he decided on the move across the Irish Sea.

  7. Heh!

    I can highly recommend Hurt’s commentary on the DVD of Fleischer’s 10 Rillington Place — what a five star lovey he is.

  8. Just for the record – the comment was about the last line of the Chisler article.

    Francis Grose; great name.

    Excuse me. do you spell that G-R-O-S-S?

    Ne-ew, G-R-O-S-E.

    ( spoken as Franklin Pangborn )

  9. I must see that movie again: I saw it once when I was way, way too young when it was chosen as the selection on a family movie night when we were on holidays. My father, who usually encouraged me to stay up past bedtime to watch the classics with him, was aghast…

  10. Tom, thanks for the clarification!

    Yeah, Grose is pretty much the perfect name for this author.

    Wow, family movie night with Reginald Christie, that doesn’t bear thinking about. But it’s a worthy climax to Fleischer’s series of true crime pictures.

  11. Thanks, and I the “something nasty in the woodshed” is from Cold Comfort Farm.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers

