Moving Pictures

Bad Asta!

Image from THE WOMAN WITH A HUNDRED HEADS, Eric Duvivier’s film of Max Ernst’s collage-book, and the subject of this week’s edition of The Forgotten over at The Daily Notebook. Comment there, or here.

Eric is the nephew of Julien, and you could treat this as a wacky foretaste of JULIEN DUVIVIER WEEK, which I still insist is definitely happening here, I’m just not entirely sure when.

7 Responses to “Moving Pictures”

  1. La Faustin Says:

    Julien Duvivier news! Gaumont à la demande (the French Warner Archives, more or less) will be issuing UN CARNET DE BAL on DVD on May 13! No English subtitles, but French hearing-impaired subtitles. Pre-order here: http://boutique.gaumont.fr/fr/produit_5_Gaumont_77530_acheter_DVD_Un_carnet_de_bal_-_DVD_precommande.php

  2. Shouldn’t that be “Basta Asta!” ?

  3. Heh.

    D Wingrove did a live translation for us of Un Carnet du Bal, but the film’s really hard to decipher due to Louis Jouvet’s fast-talking argot. It makes a fascinating comparison with the later Lydia, which altogether changes the idea while maintaining some faint connection. By contrast, the silent and talking versions of Poil de Carrotte which Duvivier filmed are comparatively similar.

  4. Christopher Says:

    Bad Ass-ta

  5. david wingrove Says:

    I actually prefer LYDIA to UN CARNET DE BAL, not least because it’s a film with a compelling and coherent narrative rather than a set of thinly linked vignettes. Call me a philistine if you will.

  6. La Faustin Says:

    Compare and contrast. Now there’s a juicy Duvivier Week post, nudge nudge.

    It’s been a long time since I saw it, but I remember that one of the things that fascinated me most was the episodic structure – I kept asking myself WHERE IT WAS GOING, while still being sure it was going somewhere definite. And then the way it could have had an entirely different meaning had it ended, say, after the Fernandel episode – sort of like the American and English editions of Burgess’ Clockwork Orange. And then the oh-the-hell-with-it cynicism of the last episode – even more than La Règle du Jeu, it makes you ask “What’s to become of these people?”

    P.S. D. Wingrove., did you do different accents when you benshi’d Un Carnet de Bal? Please don’t disillusion me.

  7. It’s an excellent idea for a post — I’d have to rewatch Un Carnet to do it though, with another translation — maybe I should get you to write that one.

    I’ve certainly got lots more Duviviers under my belt to write about… what’s needed is a really excellent one to spur me into action for the Week. I should just re-watch Pepe le Moko.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 420 other followers

