Archive for December 1, 2010

I have a cold

Posted in FILM with tags , on December 1, 2010 by dcairns

But the sore throat it started with is fading a bit. Maybe it’ll be a quick cold.

I will just mention that the still above reminds me of a curious fact. While location scouting CRY FOR BOBO, from which the image derives, ace cinematographer Scott Ward and I trekked around Pilrig Cemetery to find the right spot for Bobo’s funeral. Avoiding the nasty office building overlooking one side, I settled on this view because of the big pipe-things jutting from the wall. During the take we actually stuck smoke bombs in each of them, hoping for a little Ridley Scott atmosphere, but you can’t really see it.

What was weird is that the real grave on the left was for somebody called Cairns, and the grave on the right was for somebody called Watson (my partner’s surname). This seemed both deep and creepy.

Years later, I went back there to take a photograph as evidence, belatedly, but both the office buildings and the pipes were gone, removing all landmarks. I was forced to circumambulate the graveyard, like Eli Wallach in THE GOOD THE BAD AND THE UGLY, only with a less fey running style. Yet although I could find several Cairns tombstones and several Watson tombstones, I couldn’t find any together. I suspected they all got moved about during the construction work that had removed the adjoining structures. I pictured a gigantic chess game involving the use of forklift trucks and Google Earth.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 445 other followers