Bathtime for Babyface

Mickey Rooney bathes like this every single day of his life.

For more interesting things you didn’t want to know about the man who married Ava Gardner–and cheated on her–head over to the new Forgotten at The Auteurs’ Notebook, where I attempt to express my admiration for the Great Man, while simultaneously bellowing in horror and clawing helplessly at my eyeballs.

11 Responses to “Bathtime for Babyface”

  1. Is he bathing in rubbing alcohol or in chili sauce?

    (I guess I’m green with envy… Lord… A baththub :O, I want one!)

  2. Christopher Says:

    everyone knows andy hardy was a player!……(Lewis Stone voice) ANDEEH!

  3. David Boxwell Says:

    He could never marry a woman shorter than he was — they just didn’t exist! Happy 90th this year, Mickster! (Imdb lists his first film appearance in 1928; not even Luise Rainer has had this kind of career longevity).

  4. David Boxwell Says:

    The other Mickey Noirs (all worth watching): THE STRIP (51); DRIVE A CROOKED ROAD (54); KILLER McCOY (47); and my favorite, QUICKSAND (50), where Mickey is allowed to tower over Peter Lorre, but not over vicious mink-clad Jeanne Cagney.

  5. I’ve watched QUICKSAND a number of times, but not lately. Jeanne Cagney is supposed to be the fatale who screws up Rooney’s life, but that woman had a hard and scary face, she was about as pretty as her brother Jimmy, which is to say not at all. The movie itself is low-budget seedy fun though, Rooney’s loser who can’t do a damn thing right is preposterous, and yet fairly entertaining.

  6. Sounds kind of interesting. I have a soft spot for unappealing femmes fatales, like Anne Savage in Detour.

    My next gangster movie will probably be Corman’s Machine Gun Kelly with a juvenile Jack Nicholson.

  7. david wingrove Says:

    Why would Mickey cheat on Ava? Most likely, because he couldn’t cope with the massive inferiority complex that struck him just being in the same room…never mind being in the same bed!

    Still, his ego may have recovered in later years. At least he never had to appear in EARTHQUAKE or THE CASSANDRA CROSSING.

  8. I give him props for doing Babe: Pig in the City. For any actor who wants to keep working as they age, there are likely to be tricky choices, and I don’t think less of Ava for the sillier films she did: I only would if I knew she turned down better offers, which I doubt is true. And Tam Lin is pretty interesting and off-beat.

  9. Christopher Says:

    I liked seeing Rooney paired with Dick van Dyke in Night at the Museum..took me back to those disney films of the 60s and 70s

  10. Yes, nice to see the old-timers get some decent screen time. I have a soft spot for ol’ DVD.

  11. david wingrove Says:

    Believe me, I have nothing but admiration for Ava and her ability to survive (or even transcend) her last dreadful movies. Hers is the only watchable performance in THE CASSANDRA CROSSING, and the symbolism of Ava and Charlton Heston being washed down a sewer at the end of EARTHQUAKE is the last word on the whole shoddy enterprise.

    Oh, and I have a huge soft spot for her cameo as Mrs. Luxury in the musical remake of THE BLUE BIRD. The sight of her and Liz Taylor dressed up like twin Christmas trees has a certain twisted camp appeal. It’s not much of a film, but it would make a fabulous drag show!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

