Things I Read Off the Screen #498

Last night Fiona and I watched THE FIRST MAN INTO SPACE, a cheesy B sci-fi yarn directed by Robert “Corridors of Blood” Day and we couldn’t stop laughing at the titular astronaut’s “awed” expression as he goes beyond the infinite:

First fathead into space

I don’t think Spielberg would hire him.

The film was not so much interesting for what happened in it (Quatermass rip-off with and incredibly protracted opening set-up, half the film, it felt like — reminds me of late period Hammer films when the producers started writing them, and sure enough, turns out this was written by producers*) as for what you could read.

Maychew

Opening credits. Edited by Peter Mayhew? THIS Peter Mayhew? I guess that might explain why it’s on the primitive side. Wookiee’s aren’t known for their mastery of Russian montage.

I was psyched to read that there would be Electronic Effects, and I was NOT disappointed. It’s my opinion that most movies could be greatly improved by the addition of Electronic Effects. Even LES ENFANTS DU PARADIS could be gussied up by a Moog.

The Delgados

Roger Delgado was The Master in Dr Who — here he plays the Mexican consul, in an entirely unnecessary scene which might be intended as comic relief but they forgot to make it funny.

Sheree Winton was Dale Winton’s mother. For those of you outside the UK, Dale Winton appears as a game show host in a hallucination in TRAINSPOTTING — the role he was born to play. In real life, he IS a hallucinatory game show host.

Space Positioning?

Space Positioning!

Bloooood...

Just beautiful. Lumbering shadow shuffles across blood bank signage, a great B-monster moment.

Space Medicine?

Space Medicine?

Mr Potato Head

The fathead from the top ends up like this (cosmic rays — maybe Stan Lee or Jack Kirby saw this flick?), and it’s actually quite moving.

“Doctor? I’ve been searching for you… Everything seems strange and dark… I couldn’t find you! … Under this stuff, I feel like I’m suffering from some terrible disease… like I got no blood in my veins… I have no memory… Only an instinct to stay alive…until I found you… I’ve been groping my way through a maze of fear and doubt…”

With the dialogue delivered in agonized gasps, through an inflexible rubber mask, the scene attains a kind of cheap poetry, to use Orson Welles’ expression (describing stage magic at its best).

*Producers are just as likely to be good writers as directors, perhaps even more so. Unfortunately, they’re also in a position to hire themselves as writers, even when nobody else would ever consider them capable of writing ANYTHING. I don’t have a solution to this, beyond the utopian dream that people should be honest with themselves about their own abilities, or maybe seek a second opinion.

5 Responses to “Things I Read Off the Screen #498”

  1. I saw this when it came out (it was the B-picture to I can’t recall what) and found it very disturbing, specifically for the “maze of fear and doubt” scene.

  2. dcairns Says:

    Was it obvious to you that it was a British film pretending to be US? That seemed one of the film’s minor achievements, it’s more convincing in its transatlantic pretensions than many bigger films.

    Yes, for some reason the film really rises to a new level when the monster speaks. It’s only a brief transendence, but I can see how it’d be memorable.

  3. Actually it wasn’t.

  4. dcairns Says:

    A considerable feat for a low-budget flick! Only the credits and Brit supporting players gave it away for me.

  5. [...] a lot of B pictures (FIRST MAN INTO SPACEis a classic example),┬áSTOLEN F starts the action before anything’s due to happen and just [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

