“I’m in love with a German film star…”

Private Dancer 

Only a few days remain for you to enter our Fritz Lang songwriting contest and win the film of your dreams*! To kind of get you in der mude, I’ve knocked up a jaunty little number entitled “Blue Gardenia Blues,” which goes like this ~

Behind Closed Doors

On Scarlet Street,
There’s a great big heat,
That warms you and me in and out.
There’s a house by the river,
That makes people shiver,
Beyond a reasonable doubt.

The Look of love

It’s called Moonfleet,
And it’s on Scarlet Street,
‘Neath the “M” sits the woman in the window,
With a look of contempt,
She says, “No one’s exempt,”
So you pay her and walk right on into -

Behind the Green Door

The Ministry of Fear,
Where each eye has a tear,
And they number a thousand or more.
Check your cloak and your dagger,
And then you will stagger,
At the secret beyond the door.

Scary Monsters and Super-Creeps

Hangmen also die,
As the thousand eyes spy,
Chuck-a-luck is the game, you’re the loser.
Your fury is spent,
And you can’t pay the rent,
Cause the gambler’s Dr. Mabuse.

Luck be a Lady

Each felicitous room,
Is an Indian tomb,
And you only live once, they say.
While the city sleeps,
And the thousand eyes weep,
And all human desire ebbs away.

The Night Has a Thousand Eyes

*Normal dream conditions apply.

20 Responses to ““I’m in love with a German film star…””

  1. You’re a songwriting fellow
    Like Ivor Novello…:-)

    Nice lyrics!

    Imagine having Rotwang as your surname…:-)

    Regards,

    djp

  2. Thanks!

    Yes, I’m not sure I’d take erotic dancer recommendations from a fellow named Rotwang.

  3. “trying not to pose
    for the cameras and the girls
    it’s a glamorous world”

    has this magnificent piece of echo-unit nostalgia been on your BBC recently then?

  4. No, but it’s on my Nano. From the Best of New Wave set.

    Also, it’s actually played over the end credits of an old BBC documentary in Fritz Lang.

    PS I got the Dreadzone CD today, it’s very good. A “Sound Adventure” indeed!

  5. It’s such a joy listening to that Dreadzone cd and hearing the cinematic samples suddenly emerge. Have you identified them all yet?

  6. No, still to give it the full attention. Spotted Captain Blood (I think) and Canterbury Tale of course and Thief of Bagdad.

  7. I’ve just realised after a tangential Youtube search that your blog and its beautiful images reminds me of this video:

    for Bill Nelson’s Do You Dream in Colour. Check out those Lynch/Lang/Cocteau shadows. A chill moment I reckon although not strictly speaking from a film. And Nelson’s songs & label names echo with the cinematic; Cocteau, Dr Mabuse. He’s a dude.

  8. re; Bill Nelson

    Oh and he did the stunning, haunting, rousing score for Michael Caton-Jones first (and for me, best) work, Frederick Linsey’s Glasgow-based thriller Brond starring the Welles-like Stratford Johns (he gives a very Harry Lime enigmatic smirk to John Hannah after he has shoved the kid from the bridge).

  9. Brond was rather fine. A shame we haven’t had anything to compare with it since. The music was a big part of it, really unique sound.

    Love the video. One of the first things we learned at film school was that if you had a cameraperson who was just picking up the basics, you could let them faff about for an hour with lots of little lights, and it would look rubbish and flat, or you could just put a big light somewhere anywhere at floor level and it would look great!

  10. “Blue gardenia
    Now I’m alone with you
    And I am oh so blue
    She has tossed us aside
    And like you, gardenia
    Once I was near her heart
    After the teardrops start
    Where are teardrops to hide

    I lived for an hour
    What more can I tell
    Love bloomed like a flower
    Then the petals fell
    Blue gardenia
    Thrown to a passing breeze
    But rest in my book
    Of memories

    I lived for an hour
    What more can I tell
    Love bloomed like a flower
    Then the petals fell
    Blue gardenia
    Thrown to a passing breeze
    But rest in my book
    Of memories”

  11. dcairns Says:

    Terrific! “I was born when you kissed me, I died when you left me, I lived a few days while you loved me.”

  12. Darryl McCarthy Says:

    Time to lower the tone and be trivial. Surely there is no need to go beyond Phil Spector , viz:

    M’s so fine
    Doo-Lang, doo-Lang, doo-Lang
    M’s so fine
    Rot-Wang, Rot-Wang, Rot-Wang
    That handsome boy overthere
    Doo-Lang, doo-Lang, doo-Lang
    The one with the wavy hair
    Rot-Wang, Rot-Wang, Rot-Wang
    etc etc
    (sorry Chiffons, sorry everyone).

  13. In that spirit, here’s my favorite incredibly obscure movie song. It’s by the great Frank Loesset\r and was originally warbled by Ginny Simms in Seven Days Leave (1945)

    “I get the neck of the chicken
    I get the rumble seat ride
    I get the leaky umbrella
    Everyone shoves me aside
    When I jump in my shower each morn’
    Sure as fate,
    I’m too late,
    All the hot water is gone
    I get the neck of the chicken
    I get that burnt piece of toast
    I get that seat in the movies
    Smacko! in back of the post
    That’s why I can’t get over this dream that came true
    If I get the neck of the chicken
    How did I ever get you?
    I get the neck of the chicken
    That’s how they give me the bird
    And in the family snapshot
    Mine is the face that’s all blurred
    When morning paper comes to the door
    Sure as fate,
    I’m too late
    And they’re mine long about four
    I get the neck of the chicken
    I get the plate with the crack
    I get those evenings with Granma
    Everyone else can relax
    That’s why I can’t get over this fine howdy-do
    If I get the neck of the chicken
    How did I ever get you?”

  14. But on a far more seriosu level there’s Casbah (1950) — John Berry’s great musical version of Pepe le Moko starring Tony Martin, Marta Toren and Yvonne DeCarlo. I saw this many times on “Million Dollar Movie.” It was my first acquaintance with the story and it’s still my favorite. Why? Because the score is by Harold Arlen. “Hooray For Love” was written fro it. But the song I adore is –

    “It was written in the stars
    what was written in the stars shall be
    it was written in the skies
    that the heart and not the eyes shall see
    and so whether it bring joy
    whether it bring woe
    it shall be done
    now suddenly i know
    you are the one
    here as in a daydream
    by my side you stand
    here with my tomorrows
    in your hands
    it was written high above
    that I have to have your love
    or i’ll never be free
    and cloudy though the day be
    crazy though I may be
    what the stars foretold shall be
    here as in a daydream
    by my side you stand
    here with my tomorrows
    in your hands
    it was written high above
    that I have to have your love
    or I’ll never be free
    and cloudy though the day be
    crazy though i may be
    what the stars foretold shall be
    and so shall it be…”

  15. I was wrong It was 1948. And Peter Lorre is in it too!

  16. dcairns Says:

    Lovely! I’ve been meaning to get into John Berry but I don’t have Casbah. I’m going to start with He Ran All the Way.
    I love Charles Boyer but I’m reluctant to watch Algiers because I love the original too much.
    But my pal Lawrie, who adored Pepe Le Moko, was quite favourably impressed with the musical version when he saw it late in life.

  17. He Ran All the Way is incredible. You can see John Garfield dying right on screen. Berry settled in France, briefly returning to the U.S. to make Claudine (the gentlest of all “blacksploitation:” flicks). Then it was back to France where late in life Berry he took on acting roles. He plays Delphine Seyrig’s love interest in Chantal Ackerman’s musical Window Shopping His last film was his ( posthumously released) adaptation of Fugard’s Boesman and Lena with Danny Glover and Angela Bassett.

    His son Denis has acted for Rivette (he’s in L’Amou Fou) and directed films on his own (none of which I’ve seen.) He was briefly married to Jean Seberg and is currently married to Anna Karina.

  18. Wow!

    I think only Boesman and Lena is available here, but I have He Ran All the Way so I can at least make a start with those two.

  19. There was a time…
    not anymore,
    shadows were shadowws,
    now light is the fraud.

    George The Necromancer

  20. That’s lovely! I should have another song competition soon. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

